LOS ANGELES CHILD ANNOYING
California Penal Code 647.6
I was arrested for penal code section 647.6 child annoying, how much jail does this offense carry?
The consequences of a conviction for PC 647.6 may include incarceration in the Los Angeles County Jail for up to one year. However, it does not mean you will receive that amount of time on your case. It might even be possible that an attorney may possibly resolve the case without charges filed or resolved for less serious charges.
Can I be required to be placed on a GPS monitoring for life?
Yes under Jessica's law, it is possible that you may be required to wear a GPS tracking device for life. The Judge will not order this, but under existing law, you may be subject to this requirement.
Can I be required to register as a sex offender for life?
Yes. A conviction for penal code section 647.6 carries mandatory registration as a sex offender under penal code section 290. This is a lifetime requirement. You will be required to register annually within 5 days of your date of birth and within 5 days of moving into a new city. Because of the serious consequences, it is recommended you consult with our sex crimes defense lawyers for a consultation.
Can I be precluded from living within 2000 feet of any school or park?
Yes. This is part of Jessica's law which is enforced in all 58 counties in California. However, there is currently a stay in effect in Los Angeles County by Superior Court Judge Peter Espinosa who made a court rulling that it may be unconstitutional. This stay precludes the Los Angeles County Probation department and the Department of Corrections for enforcing this requirement in Los Angeles County at the present time. This order was issued in November 2010.
Can I be required to participate in sex offender counseling?
Yes. If probation is granted, the law requires sex offender counseling unless the court makes a finding in writing that counseling is ilnappropriate or ineffective.
What kind of punishment can I receive for a second offense 647.6?
The punishment is a felony and carries imprisonment up to three years in state prison.
What if I am charged with a 647.6 but I have a prior conviction for rape, child molestation, which involved a minor under 16 years of age or a previous molestation case involving a child under 14 years of age?
The punishment carries state prison for two, four or six years in prison on the new case. If you are on probation or parole you face additional time for a probation or parole violation.
Time is of the essence, if you are facing a charge of penal code 647.6 child annoying, contact us today at (626) 859-2295 for immediate assistance.
While the prosecutors and police detective are working around the clock to build a case against you for a conviction for penal code 647.6 child annoying it is imperative to immediately build a successful criminal defense.
We are available to help you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You may speak to a Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney by calling us toll free at 1-866- 548-2529 or at (626) 975-2080. Call us today because we can help you at this very moment.